Bright Care Office Locations

Dedicated exclusively to privately delivered care and companionship for older people in Scotland.

Moving & Handling

Being able to assist an elderly person to move in a manner that is safe both for the person being moved, but also the person who is assisting is vitally important.

We run regular workshops on safe Moving and Handling techniques across all of our offices and we would be delighted if you would join us to learn more.

This workshop is made up of theory as well as practical work.  The theory element of the workshop provides a good basis for understanding how to keep ourselves and our loved ones/clients safe when we support them to move.

You will learn about:

  • The Legal aspect – what legislation exists and how does it affect me?
  • The causes and effects of musculoskeletal injuries
  • How to prevent musculoskeletal injuries (at home and work!)
  • Understand how to assess risk

During the practical part of the training you will have a chance to practice some safe moves including:

  • Supporting someone while they walk
  • Helping someone get up from a chair
  • Supporting someone to sit down
  • Tips on using a wheelchair safely

The workshop is free, lasts 6 hours and lunch and refreshments are provided!

Edinburgh

Address:
18C Liberton Brae
Edinburgh
Midlothian
EH16 6AE

Upcoming Workshops

  • Thursday 6th July 2017
  • Friday 4th August 2017
  • Friday 31st August 2017

Workshop hours:

9.30am – 4pm

Book Workshop Here

Glasgow South

Address:
Kirkhill House Office Park,
81 Broom Road East,
Newton Mearns,
Glasgow,
East Renfrewshire,
G77 5LL

Upcoming Workshops:

  • Wednesday 19th July 2017
  • Friday 18th August 2017
  • Saturday 9th September 2017

Workshop hours:

9.30am – 4pm

Book Workshop Here

Perthshire

Address:
7 Charlotte Street
Perth, Perthshire
PH1 5LW

Upcoming Workshops:

  • Thursday 13th July
  • Thursday 10th August
  • Friday 8th September

Workshop hours:

9.30am – 4pm

Book Workshop Here

Stirlingshire

Address:
The Mill
Station Road
Bridge of Allan
FK9 4JS

Upcoming Workshops: 

  • Thursday 27th July 2017
  • Thursday 24th August 2017

Workshop hours:

9.30am – 4pm

Book Workshop Here